UE CBA Professor is 2017 Agora Awardee in Marketing Education!


Prof. Cynthia A. Abella of the UE College of Business Administration (CBA)-Manila was recognized as the 2017 Agora Awardee for Outstanding Achievement in Marketing Education at the Philippine Marketing Association’s 38th Agora Awards.

Prof. Abella and eight other recipients of the Agora award in various categories were recognized at the awards night held on November 9, 2017, at the Maynila Ballroom of The Manila Hotel in Ermita, Manila.

A graduate of BSC Advertising of the Polytechnic University of the Philippines, Prof. Abella began her professional foray into education in 1994 at the University of the East. Prior to working in the academe, she held marketing-related positions in different companies, such as advertising agencies, an international forwarding company, a publishing outfit and a non-government organization.

An active stalwart of marketing education, Prof. Abella has been the Director of the Association of Marketing Educators of the Philippines Inc. from 1995 to the present, and was elected as its National President in 2006 to 2007. She has organized several conferences, seminars and training to equip and upgrade the competencies of educators and students.

Prof. Abella was the Chair of the UE CBA Manila Department of Marketing Management from 2004 to 2006, and of the College’s Department of Marketing, Business Management, Business Computer, and Behavioral Science from 2006 to 2009. She went on to become the Chair of UE CBA Manila’s College Research Committee from 2008 to 2011, and is still actively involved in the research program of the College.

She has also been active in marketing research, having presented papers in Japan, USA and Thailand.

Prof. Abella is currently UE CBA Manila’s Chair for the Department of Entrepreneurial Venture and Student Apprenticeship (EVSA), as well as the College’s Research Coordinator.

Considered as the pinnacle of marketing awards, the Agora Awards aims to honor and recognize individuals and companies that have made a significant contribution to the marketing profession. This year’s awards recognized achievers in eight categories: Advocacy Marketing, Entrepreneurship (Small Scale), Entrepreneurship (Medium Scale), Entrepreneurship (Large Scale), Export Marketing, Marketing Communications, Marketing Education, and Marketing Management.

Prof. Abella is the fourth UE professor to receive the Agora Award for Outstanding Achievement in Marketing Education. Prior to her were UE CBA Manila Professors Teodoro M. Jurado (1982), Maria Delia B. Ayran (1989) and Ma. Victoria M. Ac-ac (2000).

Congratulations, Award-winning Warrior Marketing Professor!

Comments are closed.