UE celebrates Fil-Argentinian Cultural and Historical Heritage

This Thursday, August 20, 2015, marks the start of a weeklong “Celebration of the Filipino-Argentinian Cultural and Historical Common Heritage” by the Department of International Hospitality Management of the UE College of Arts and Sciences-Manila.

The celebration will have two events: a convention on August 20 from 9 a.m. to 12 noon, at the UE Conference Hall, and an exhibit at the SFC-Admissions Lobby that will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. from August 20 to 26.

Check these out, Warriors, and learn more about our nation’s ties with the massive South American nation that is Argentina!

UE Caloocan Guidance and Counseling Office August Activities

11017449_971628042889482_6769197560416664719_n (2)

UE Caloocan high school students (of UE Caloocan’s Elementary and High School Department), these August 2015 activities are for you, courtesy of the UE Caloocan Guidance and Counseling Office. Take part, EHSD High School Warriors!

Career Choice Seminar for Grade 9 & Grade 10 SLS Parents w/ Guidance NGO


Guidance and Counseling Office invites the Grades 9 & 10 Parents to a seminar entitled “Career Choice Seminar for Grades 9 &10 SLS Parents with Guidance NGO”.

This will be held on August 14, 2015, 1:00-4:00 pm at the Conference Hall.

UE Pop Idol 2015


It’s that time of the year again when the University, through the Office of Cultural Affairs, seeks out great amateur singers among our student warriors! If you have what it takes, join the audition on your UE Campus this week!

Please see the poster here for details. Good luck, Singing Warriors!

Comparative Conundrum Between Nation State and Muslim Governance


This Wednesday afternoon at the Conference Hall in UE Manila: a special international studies lecture by a distinguished, accomplished graduate of the UE College of Arts and Sciences-Manila, Dr. Nassef M. Adiong!

Brought to us by the UE College of Arts and Sciences-Manila’s Department of History and International Studies, in cooperation with the UE Office of Extension and Community Outreach. See you there, International Studies Warriors!

Philippine Opera Company’s “Harana”, a Cultural Journey



Everyone in UE is invited to the UE Theater this Wednesday, August 12, 2015, as the UE Office of Cultural Affairs (OCA) brings to us the Philippine Opera Company’s Harana. The show starts at 2 p.m. Free admission to the UE community!

Harana, which is the Philippine word for “serenade,” represents the official cultural arm of the Phiippine Opera Company. Per the Company, Harana is composed of eight highly celebrated singers, each an accomplished soloist in his and her own right.

To quote further from the Philippine Opera Company: This presentation is aimed at showcasing the evolution of Philippine music through song, movement and drama. The repertoire is composed of six suites, each suite to be theatrically presented replete with authenticity, originality and visual excitement.

Each suite was borne out of thorough research, with the commitment to preserve indigenous Philippine music and its appropriate dance and folklore. The entire presentation is also aimed at restructuring and enhancing such research findings to evolve repertoires suited to the demands of contemporary theater and to promote international goodwill through performances at home and abroad. The result is an absolute feast to the sense.

Catch this cultural feast, Warriors!

UE to Actively Take Part in MMDA Shake Drill

Shake Drill banner for the UE website, July 2015

The University of the East fully supports the Metro Manila Shake Drill spearheaded by the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) and which will be held tomorrow morning, July 30, 2015.

The simultaneous drills in UE will start as follows:
UE Manila Main Campus: 10:15 a.m.
UE Caloocan: 10:30 a.m.
UE Manila Annex: 10:30 a.m.

A loud warning sound throughout the campuses will mark the start of the drill.

The evacuation areas are as follows:

1. At the UE Manila Main Campus: Quadrangle, UE-Tan Yan Kee Garden and Gastambide parking area
2. In UE Caloocan: the Open Field
3. At the Dr. Lucio C. Tan Building, UE Manila Annex: the sidewalk right outside the building entrance and on Matapang Street (on the right side if facing the building).

Marshals will be on hand to direct all evacuees to their appropriate evacuation area.

Let us show the MMDA and the general public that we in UE are ready, brisk and orderly in evacuating from our respective locations on campus, and in gathering at the assembly areas during this grand drill.

Thank you and be ready for tomorrow, Warriors!

UE to present Don Quixote

The University of the East (UE), through its Office of Cultural Affairs (OCA), will present “Don Quixote,” on Wednesday, July 29, at 2 p.m., at the UE Theater, UE Manila.
In cooperation with the Philippine Ballet Theater (PBT), the UE’s cultural presentation will feature PBT’s principal dancer Lobreza Pimentel as Kitri in Don Quixote.
A UE alumna, Pimentel finished the BSBA Marketing Management course at the UE College of Business Administration-Manila.
The UE Silanganan Dance Troupe will perform in this ballet show. Admission is free to the UE community, on a first-come-first-served basis.
For inquiries, please call the UE OCA, tel. nos. 735-54-71, loc. 441.

A PBT principal ballerina, Lobreza Pimentel in her fine performance

A PBT principal ballerina, Lobreza Pimentel in her fine performance

Reminders on behalf of the UE Office of Extension and Community Outreach-National Service Training Program (OECO-NSTP):


The UE Campuses will be part of the earthquake-preparedness “Shake Drill” by the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) to be held this Thursday, July 30, around 10:30 a.m. And be prepared for calamities and similar emergency situations with your own “Go Bag”!

Philippine Ballet Theater: Don Quixote

The UE Office of Cultural Affairs presents “Don Quixote,” a special performance by the Philippine Ballet Theater (PBT) featuring Ms. Lobreza Pimentel, a UE summer 2012 BSBA major in Marketing Management graduate of the UE College of Business Administration-Manila.
The show, which will also feature the UE Silanganan Dance Troupe, will be held on July 29, 2015 (Wednesday), 2 p.m., at the UE Theater. Admission is free to the UE community!


February 2017
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
« Jan