UE Manila Named Outstanding Delegation at YMCA National Congress for 7th Straight Year!


(Photo and report by Mr. Dexter A. Villanueva, Campus Organizations Coordinator, UE Manila SAO)

The UE Manila delegation achieved a milestone in the 42nd YMCA National Congress of College Students and the 22nd YMCA Campus Club Advisers Seminar-Workshop after it was named one of the Outstanding Delegations. This marked the seventh straight year for UE Manila to earn the Outstanding Delegation recognition.

The annual student congress was held on November 30 to December 4, 2017, at Teachers Camp in Baguio City. The theme of this year’s competition was “#Y Millennials: A Generation of New Leaders.”


UE Manila delegates exhibited their winning ways by capturing major awards in the various competitions during the Congress. Louie R. Mangali, a senior AB Legal Management student and 4th-year Representative of Lex Societas Orientis (LEXSO), captured the Best Speaker and Best Debater awards of the Debate competition and was First Runner-up in the Debate competition. He also earned First Place in the Tuklas Talino Quiz Competition and was awarded as one of the Outstanding Delegates of the Congress.

Also named as Outstanding Delegates were University Student Council (USC) Secretary and College Y Club Vice President–External and UE Manila Head Delegate Quisha Leigh S. Varez (AB Political Science), College of Arts and Sciences Student Council (CAS SC) 3rd-year Representative Radell Nicole Y. Dimalibot (AB Legal Management), College of Business Administration (CBA) SC President Mark Kennedy DS. Cadorna (BS Accountancy), College Y Club President Lance Vladimir M. Molino (AB Legal Management), and LEXSO Liaison Officer Lianne Clave A. Baclig (AB Legal Management).

Another UE Manila delegate, College Y Club Vice President–Internal and senior AB English student AM Jules Karla D. Gonzales was a Finalist of the Extemporaneous Speech contest.

Together with Ms. Varez, Mr. Mangali, Ms. Dimalibot and Ms. Baclig, other elected Commission Chairs were USC President John Eric A. Verde (BS ECE), College Y Club PRO Timothy S. Caday (AB Legal Management), CAS SC President King Noe A. Badong (AB Legal Management), CBA SC Vice President Rochelle M. Panal (BS Accounting Technology), UE Red Cross Youth Council President Sean Michael J. Dela Cruz (AB Legal Management) and USC Vice President Bettina Leandra L. Ulibarri (BS Accounting Technology).

Also at the Congress, Mr. Cadorna and Mr. Molino were elected Commission Co-Chairs together with College of Dentistry (CDent) SC 2nd-year Representative and reigning Ms. Dentistry Jasmin Joy E. Guevarra (Dentistry Proper), College of Computer Studies and Systems (CCSS) SC President Kimberly Clutario (BSIT), College of Education (CEduc) SC President Dianne-Ver S. Federizo (BEEd), and CBA SC Secretary Twinkle Thea T. Domingo (BS Accounting Technology).

Dawn Filipino Editor Zyrrah Angelica M. Miravite (AB International Studies) and CDent SC 3rd-year Representative Hannah Gabrielle O. Bayot (Dentistry Proper) were elected Commission Rapporteurs.

Ms. Dimalibot was later elevated to Cluster Chair, while Mr. Caday, Mr. Verde and Mr. Badong were elected as Cluster Co-Chairs in their respective clusters. Mr. Cadorna and Mr. Molino ended up as elected Cluster Marshalls.

Mr. Cadorna, Ms. Panal, Ms. Miravite and UE International Game Developers Association Chairperson Jastine Joy G. Dela Paz (BS EMC) were recognized for their contributions to the Congress Balita, the official newsletter of the YMCA National Congress.

Ms. Varez, last year’s Deputy Secretary-General of the Congress Plenary, was elected Plenary Secretary-General.

UE Manila Student Affairs Office (SAO) Campus Organizations Coordinator and UE Manila Delegation Adviser Dexter A. Villanueva delivered a lecture on Parliamentary Procedure and Effective Resolution-making. Mr. Villanueva, a YMCA Congress alumnus, also served as the Congress Program Director for Students, Chair of the Workshops and Discussions Committee, Co-chair of the Extemporaneous Speaking Contest, and Congress Parliamentarian.

UE CCSS professor and College Y Club faculty adviser Reynalyn T. Elon, also a YMCA Congress alumna, served as Delegation Adviser and was one of the judges for the On-the-Spot Poster-making Contest.

DLSU Lipa professor Aisa Mijeno, the inventor of the SALt Lamp, was the Congress’ keynote speaker. She highlighted the importance of young people making innovations while facing the challenges of society.

Also speaking during the Congress were veteran TV and radio commentator and lay leader Bernard Factor Canaberal, on “Leadership Molded by Spirituality for Humanity,” and YMCA National Congress Alumnus and FEU Assistant Vice President for Academic Services Joeven Castro on “Steering Millennial Leaders towards Academic Excellence.”

A record number of attendees were seen in this year’s Congress as the five-day event was attended by 446 student delegates and 91 campus advisers from 50 colleges and universities from all over the Philippines.




Comments are closed.