UE Caloocan Set to Honor Two Broadcasters as Gawad Bagani for 2018

baganiIn pursuit of acknowledging the modern heroes of radio and television, the University of the East-Caloocan, in cooperation with the UE College of Arts and Sciences-Caloocan (CAS Caloocan) and the UE Office of the Extension and Community Outreach (OECO), will be honoring the latest awardees of its annual Gawad Bagani sa Komunikasyon on February 15, 2018 (Thursday), 2 p.m., at Multipurpose Hall 3 of the Dr. Lucio C. Tan Building in UE Caloocan.


With “Ang Nag-aalab na Damdamin ng mga Makabagong Bagani Para sa Responsableng Pamamahayag,” UE Caloocan’s fifth consecutive Gawad Bagani program will be awarding Ms. Mel Tiangco of 24 Oras for the television category and Mr. Arnold Clavio of Dobol A sa Dobol B for the radio category. This marks the second time for both broadcasters to receive the award, with Ms. Tiangco first earning the title in 2016 and Mr, Clavio in 2015.


UE Caloocan’s annual Gawad Bagani recognition is the result of months of conducting surveys in different parts of Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas and Valenzuela. This year in particular, “Eighty percent of survey is of the residents of Camanava and the remaining 20 percent are the students and employees of UE Caloocan,” said UE CAS Caloocan Dean Crisol A. Bruza.


Ms. Tiangco, one of the senior news anchors of the weekday television news program 24 Oras, is also known for being the host of another GMA network TV, Magpakailanman, which relates stories of different life experiences and challenges faced by Filipinos, ordinary and well-known alike. Ms. Tiangco also delivers public service by contributing to and spearheading the GMA Kapuso Foundation.


Mr. Clavio, often referred to as “Igan,” shows a deep passion for broadcasting, having been a part of numerous news programs that led him to becoming one of the most distinguishable faces in Philippine broadcasting. He humbly started as a news writer for DWIZ and was later on hired as a field reporter for GMA’s Super Radyo DZBB. He is now a trusted voice heard all over the Philippines in the morning via his own radio news program, Dobol A sa Dobol B, with Ms. Ali Sotto.


Among UE’s previous Gawad Bagani winners are Ms. Jessica Soho (Television, 2014), Ms. Vicky Morales (TV, 2016), Ms. Kara David (TV, 2015); Mr. Julius Babao and Ms. Kaye Dacer, anchors on DZMM Teleradyo (2016); and the First Gawad Bagani Hall of Famer, Mr. Mike Enriquez (TV, 2014 to 2017).


UE President Ester A. Garcia, UE Caloocan Chancellor Zosimo M. Battad, OECO Director Rogelio I. Espiritu, UE Graduate School Dean Julian A. Abuso and Dean Bruza will give the awards to Ms. Tiangco and Mr. Clavio, emblematic of their continuous dedication and passion for work in radio and television.


Congratulations, Gawad Bagani broadcasters Mel Tiangco and Arnold Clavio!

#GawadBagani  #UECaloocanWeek

Comments are closed.


August 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
« Jul