Governance and Organization

The Chairman of the Board is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the University in all departments. He is elected by and is responsible to the Board for its organization, direction and operation.

The CEO is assisted by three committees, namely, the Management Committee, the Infrastructure Committee and the Management Information Systems Committee.


The Management Committee meets with and advises the CEO on matters affecting the organization and operation of the University. Headed by the Chairman and CEO, it has the following members: the President and Chief Academic Officer, the Chancellor, the Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, the Finance Officer, the Director of Human Resources and Development and the University Legal Counsel. The Management Committee meets at a date, time and place set by the CEO.


The MIS Steering Committee is a policy-making body that sets the direction of the University in adapting information and communications technology (ICT). The Committee holds regular meetings to advise the Chairman on IT-related matters, i.e., integrating information technology in the educational systems. The Committee is chaired by the Chairman and President and has the following members: the Chancellor of the UE Manila Campus, the Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, the Chancellor of the Caloocan Campus, the Dean of the College of Computer Studies and Systems and the Director of the Management Information Systems Department.


The Infrastructure Committee is responsible for the evaluation, approval and prioritization of all infrastructure projects and major repair or maintenance works in the Manila and Caloocan Campuses. Majority of the proposed projects are recommended by the Department of Engineering through the Director for Administrative Services. The Committee is represented by the different sectors of the University, including the legal, information technology, finance, purchasing and budget sectors, with the Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer as Chair, and the Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer as Vice Chair.

The President of the University, elected to the position by the members of the Board of Trustees, is the Chief Academic Officer. He/She is responsible to the Board, through the Chairman, for the promotion of quality instruction in all the colleges and schools of the University. He/She is assisted in his/her academic functions by the Chancellors in the Manila and Caloocan Campuses.


The Chancellor – Manila Campus is directly responsible to the President. He assists the President in implementing academic policies laid down by the Board of Trustees and in administering the entire educational concern, including all academic programs and academic personnel. He also implements UE’s five year medium term goal: to make the University of the East Manila the Center of Business , Information and Communication Technology. A major component of this goal is the integration of IT with the academe, including that of UE Caloocan and UERMMC. He implements Problem-based learning (PBL) through computer-based teaching (CBT). Thus, the Information technology and systems function is directly under his supervision. He also assists the President in developing linkages and twinning arrangements with reputable international academic institutions in pursuit for academic excellence and global competitiveness.


The Chancellor – Caloocan Campus exercises both administrative and academic functions. He exercises general supervision of the Deans and Directors as well as the heads of academic offices concerned with admission, registration, student affairs, guidance and counseling, and the library in the Caloocan campus.


The Academic Council assists and advises the President in all matters affecting or pertaining to the general educational policies of the University, including such academic matters as scholastic standards, faculty development, grants of fellowships, study leaves, sabbaticals and awards of scholarships and honors. The composition of the Academic Council includes the President, as chairperson, the Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, and the Deans/Directors of academic offices as regular members, with the MISD Director, TEPO Director, ORC Director and COPAA Coordinator as ex-officio members.

The organizational structure shows the communication flow in the University from top to bottom and vice versa.

Appointed by the President, subject to confirmation by the Board of Trustees, the administrative head of a College or school is a Dean, Director or Principal who is responsible to the President for its operation. The Dean is assisted by the Associate Dean, the College Secretary and the department chairpersons.