UE Library Science Alumni Association to Open “Hybrid Library” Seminar to the Public

Dr Juan C Buenrostro (cropped)

The University of the East Library Science Alumni Association, Inc. (UELSAAI), in cooperation with the UE Graduate School, will hold a seminar on “Hybrid Library for the New Generation of Library Users.”

This will be held on August 13, 2010, Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., at the Instructional Room on the second floor of the College of Education Building in UE Manila. The seminar will be followed by a General Assembly.

The seminar aims to provide librarians, library staffers, information professionals and LIS students appropriate information for them to:

• become aware of the nature , characteristics, collection and other unique features of a hybrid library;

• understand the place of the hybrid library in the information value chain; and

• identify the degree of overlap between the electronic duties and traditional duties in a hybrid library.

Dr. Juan C. Buenrostro, Library Director of Baliuag University, will be the resource speaker. Dr. Buenrostro is a Library Science Professor of the UE College of Arts and Sciences-Manila and the UE Graduate School.

The seminar fee will be Php 600.00, but LIS students will be entitled to a special rate of Php 300.00. The fees will cover each attendee’s certificate of participation, lunch and snacks.

For reservations and details, please contact: Mrs. Zenaida Q. Macalawi (UPSHD), 871-0639 local 180 or zhemac@yahoo.com; Mrs. Fely A. Diego (UE), 735-5471 loc. 391 or felyta@yahoo.com; Ms. Joy V. Vienes (UE), 735-5471 loc. 418 or jhoy_v@yahoo.com, or please contact any of the Association’s other officers.

The UELSAAI’s Executive Board for 2010-2011 is composed of Grace M. Mauricio (UE BSLS 1996), currently a Librarian of Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila, as President; Zenaida Q. Macalawi (UE BSLS 1975), a Librarian of University of Perpetual Help System-Dalta, as Vice President; Maria Teresa M. Cabance (UE BSLS 1994), a Librarian of the Department of Labor and Employment, as Secretary; Joy V. Vienes (UE MLIS 2008), Librarian III of the UE Department of Libraries, as Treasurer; Fely A. Diego (UE MLIS 2009), Senior Librarian of the UE Department of Libraries, as Auditor; and Jerica V. Dioneda (UE BSLIS 2008), a Librarian of the University of Perpetual Help System-Dalta, as Public Relations Officer.

The UELSAAI’s Board of Directors include Jennifer G. Osin (UE BSE LS 1997), a former Senior Librarian of the UE Department of Libraries turned private practitioner; Rhymerryzxiamikko F. Lagda (UE BS LIS 2008), Librarian-Cataloger of San Beda College; and Ma. Shella Anna B. Cabello (UE BSLIS 2008), a Library Assistant of the UE Department of Libraries.

Serving as Ex-Officio Member is Celia C. Cruz (UE BSE LS 1978), Librarian of the Ortigas Foundation Library, while the Board’s Advisers include Dir. Loreto T. Garcia (UE BSE LS 1973), the incumbent Director of the UE Department of Libraries; Rebecca M. Jocson (UE BSE LS 1971), Chief Librarian  of the Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila; and the Director of Libraries of the Rizal Technological University, Dr. Angelina P. Resurreccion (UE BSE LS 1971).

Comments are closed.


January 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
« Dec