UE Caloocan ECE Team Earns UP Innovations Congress Championship!

Icon 2019 pic 1 Team E-GAWAD

Champion Team E-GAWAD’s (from left) Leidel Marie Verdadero, Aldrin Yves Ortiz, Jericho Russell Lingan, Jem Kenneth Elopre, Aaron Joshua Sullera, Kim Robert Arado, Janito Bonggo Jr., and Czar Ivan Enrique

Three groups of Electronics Engineering students of the University of the East College of Engineering-Caloocan made it to the second round of competitions at the Engineering Innovations Congress (Icon) 2019, with one team emerging as the Engineering Innovations Champion!

The event, organized by the University of the Philippines-Diliman Engineering Student Council, was held on February 9, 2019, at the GT Toyota Asian Center Auditorium in UP Diliman, Quezon City.

The participating UE groups were named (in alphabetical order) Team ASPIRE, Team E-GAWAD and Team Farmbot.

Team ASPIRE takes it name from its project, namely Advanced Technology for Systematic Water Purification with Innovative Real-time Monitoring System and Emergency Response. Team E-GAWAD’s stands for Enhanced Gasification of Agricultural Waste to Alternative Energy Device. Team FARMBOT’s name refers to Farmer’s Aid for Resource and Monitoring Mobile Robot.

Icon 2019 pic 2 Team FARMBOT

The People’s Choice Award-winning Team FARMBOT’s (from left) Ronilloyd Santos, Bianca Del Mundo, Chester Kyle Santos, Jediah Puertollano, Jester Roi Mendoza, Lerry Christan Sampang, Jazmine Klaire Vargas and Alyssa Aster Cariño

Team ASPIRE was composed of (in alphabetical order) Dianne Chrissette Alejo, John Lean Cortez, Khaina Daniella Garcia, Davidaniel Gero, John Carlo Manzano, Ian Gabriel Marcos, Janine Rachelle Reya, Ghesie San Miguel, and Angelo Arnaldo Santos.

Team E-GAWAD was comprised by Kim Robert Arado, Janito Bonggo Jr., Jem Kenneth Elopre, Czar Ivan Enrique, Jericho Russell Lingan, Aldrin Yves Ortiz, Aaron Joshua Sullera, and Leidel Marie Verdadero.

Team Farmbot was composed of (in alphabetical order) Alyssa Aster Cariño, Bianca Del Mundo, Jester Roi Mendoza, Jediah Puertollano, Lerry Christan Sampang, Chester Kyle Santos, Ronilloyd Santos, and Jazmine Klaire Vargas.

Icon 2019 pic 3 Team ASPIRE

Team ASPIRE’s (from left) Ian Gabriel Marcos, Ghesie San Miguel, John Carlo Manzano, Dianne Chrissette Alejo, Khaina Daniella Garcia, Janine Rachelle Reya, Davidaniel Gero, John Lean Cortez, and Angelo Arnaldo Santos

Together with their advisers, namely Engr. Mark Anthony Aseoche, Engr. Oliver G. Daitol and Engr. Rommel Ramos, the UE teams showcased their innovative projects that were produced based on the Sustainable Development Goals set by the United Nations.

The second round was a very exciting one, as students of various schools, including Bulacan State University (BSU), UP, and Philippine Air Transport and Training Service-College of Aeronautics gave their respective speeches describing their unique and interesting projects. But our warrior ECE students did not back down, presenting their own prototypes with flair and confidence.

After the second round, six teams advanced to the final round and further explained comprehensive details and information about their projects.

UE CEng’g Caloocan’s Team E-GAWAD ultimately earned second place in that second round and advanced to the final round, where they rose to the top and were announced as the Engineering Innovations Congress 2019 Champion.

They were trailed by BSU Teams Food Saver and Kalisma, which earned 2nd and 3rd places, respectively.


UE CEng’g Caloocan Icon 2019 participants

The UE teams also won the Best Presenter Award, which was given to Team E-GAWAD, and the People’s Choice Award, which was handed to Team FARMBOT.

Our champion team’s project is an automated system that converts agricultural waste into electricity for the benefit of the rural community.

They sure are innovators of the future. And with the mindset of helping to sustain the world through their projects, it is certain that they can fulfil the goal of sustaining and developing future generations.

Congratulations and keep up the sustainable work, iconic ECE Warriors!

(Report and photos courtesy of UE CEng’g Caloocan via Dr. Paraluman G. Sim; report by Jericho Russell Lingan)


Comments are closed.


August 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
« Jul